Happy Birthday to me, I have Lymphoma.

December 10th, 2014. My 46th Birthday and the day I was diagnosed with Non Hodgkin Lymphoma. Not a banner day by any means. You see this kind of stuff all the time in the movies and such. It was rather anti-climactic in my case. I knew I had something it was just official now. My mass graduated to tumor and I was invited to take a CT guided needle biopsy on Friday.

The office staff at my oncologist’s office seemed genuinely sad that I received this news on my Birthday. I honestly believe heaven has a large contingent of oncology nurses cruising around. They are genuinely kind and generous people.

The drive home with my wife was a quiet one. I had already told my employer something was going on, and now that I had so much more detail and a preliminary diagnosis I was faced with not only telling work, but also my three kids and my family.

Leave a Reply

